Climate Change and Emissions Management Corporation

Backgrounder: Board biographies July 13, 2009

Board named to manage the use of provincial climate change funds

Eric Newell, Chair, Climate Change and Emissions Management Corporation Eric Newell is the retired Chancellor of the University of Alberta, a position he held from 2004 to 2008. He is the retired Chair and CEO of Syncrude Canada Ltd., positions he held from 1994 and 1989, respectively, until 2004. He served as President of Syncrude from 1989 to 1997. Prior to that, he worked with Imperial Oil Limited and Esso Petroleum Canada Ltd. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada and a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence.

Doug Beever, Fertilizer Industry

Doug Beever is Senior Director, Corporate Relations, Agrium. In his current role, Mr. Beever is responsible for Agrium's Government Relations, Corporate Social Responsibility and Communications. Prior to joining Agrium, Mr. Beever worked for Monsanto Canada Inc. He is involved with several industry associations and also sits on the boards of ICO2N, the Nutrients for Life Foundation Canada and BIOCAP (no longer in operation).

Jim Carter, Mineral Manufacturing

Jim Carter retired in 2007 as President of Syncrude after a 28 year career with the company. His efforts were critical in making advances in oil sands productivity and environmental performance. Mr. Carter is the Chair of the Alberta Carbon Capture Council and serves on the boards of EPCOR, Finning International, Clark Builders and the Alberta Research Council. As former Chairman and Director of the Mining Association of Canada, he championed an initiative to help improve the mining industry's environmental and social performance.

Paul Clark, Chemical Producers

Paul Clark is President, VisionGain Consulting Inc., a company that provides support with vision and strategy building, research and technology management, and advanced technical-based facilitation. Previously he was Vice President, Research and Technology for NOVA Chemicals Corporation and President, NOVA Chemicals Research and Technology Inc. His career includes building extensive relationships with universities to create and manage collaborative research projects which had significant commercial impact.

Aaron Falkenberg, Public at Large

Aaron Falkenberg is Chair, Mercantile Life Insurance Board, board Chair for Edatanetworks, and a board member for the Alberta Energy Research Institute. He has been involved in numerous business enterprises, including poultry farming, farm construction, real estate development to name a few.

Charles Fischer, Conventional Oil and Gas

Charlie Fischer is a former President and CEO of Nexen. His academic background includes chemical engineering and a masters degree in business administration. He began his career as a natural gas processing engineer and has held senior management positions with TransCanada Pipelines and Encor as well as Nexen. Mr. Fischer currently Co-Chairs the Alberta Climate Change Central board and is a member of the Alberta Economic Development Authority.

Paul Galachiuk, Oil Sands

Paul Galachiuk is the Vice President, Growth Planning and Development, Suncor Energy. He has 27 years of oil sands and refinery experience. He has served as a board member with the Alberta Energy Research Institute since 2001 and is the current Chair of the University of Alberta, Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering Advisory Panel. He is a registered Professional Engineer in the Province of Alberta with APEGGA.

Gary Holden, Public at Large

Gary Holden is President and CEO of ENMAX and CEO of each of ENMAX's subsidiary corporations. He also serves as a Director with the Canadian Electricity Association, the Alberta Children's Hospital Foundation and Climate Change Central. His background includes leadership positions with AltaGas Income Trust, EnSource Energy Services and TransAlta New Zealand Limited.

Dr. Brenda Kenny, Pipeline Industry

Brenda Kenny is President of the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association (CEPA) where she works with industry on issues including safety, climate change, regulatory efficiency and financial competitiveness. Dr. Kenny has extensive experience in energy regulation, sustainable development and strategy. Prior to joining CEPA, she worked with the National Energy Board where she provided executive leadership in policy, regulatory reviews and finance. Dr. Kenny holds a doctorate in resources and the environment, a masters of mechanical engineering, and a bachelors of applied science.

Dr. David Lewin, Electricity Generation

As Senior Vice President, David Lewin is heading the development of coal gasification technology at EPCOR. His responsibilities have included ensuring legal compliance in monitoring and reporting plant emissions, implementing corporate strategies to address greenhouse gas emissions and other environmental matters. He was a leader in developing the Genesee 3 power plant, which features the most advanced coal-combustion technology in Canada.

Dr. David Lynch, Academic representative

David Lynch is Dean, Faculty of Engineering at the University of Alberta. He has provided leadership to major initiatives such as National Institute for Nanotechnology and the Imperial Oil – Alberta Ingenuity Centre for Oil Sands Innovation. He is a member of the board of directors of Micralyne Inc., and a member of the board of the Alberta Energy Research Institute, Climate Change Central, Science Alberta Foundation, and the National Institute for Nanotechnology Board of Trustees.

Dr. Robert Mansell, Public at Large

Robert Mansell is Academic Director of the School of Public Policy at the University of Calgary, Professor of Economics, and Founding Director and Senior Fellow of the Institute for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy. He holds a Ph.D. in economics, specializing in econometrics and regional/resource economics. He has served on many committees and boards including the Energy Strategy Advisory Committee for the Government of Alberta, on the board of directors for the Alberta Energy Research Institute and the Canadian Energy Research Institute.

Patrice Merrin, Public at Large

Patrice Merrin is an independent consultant and corporate director. She is a former President and CEO of Luscar Ltd., Canada's largest thermal coal company, and former EVP/COO of global mining and refining corporation, Sherritt International. Ms. Merrin has been a Director of the Alberta Energy Research Institute since 2004, and is a Director of CML Healthcare Income Fund and The New Brunswick Power Group of Companies. She has been a speaker and moderator on North American energy issues. She was a federal appointee to the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy and served on the Government of Canada's Natural Resources' Ministry's Expert Panel on Energy Science and Technology.

Roy Neehall, Municipal Representative

Roy Neehall has 30 years experience in the environmental sector. He led the development of Edmonton's world leading waste management systems and the Edmonton Waste Management Centre of Excellence, a non-profit corporation focused on research, technology demonstration and practitioner training. With a long-standing interest in controlling greenhouse gas emissions, he was instrumental in establishing one of the early initiatives in Alberta, the capture of landfill gas for power production at Clover Bar, Edmonton.

Aleasa Tasker, Forestry

Aleasa Tasker is Vice President of the Weyerhaeuser pulp mill in Grande Prairie. She holds a bachelor of science in chemistry from Dalhousie University and has been employed by Procter & Gamble and Weyerhaeuser since 1979. Ms. Tasker is a member of Weyerhaeuser's Grande Prairie Site Leadership Team, Alberta Management Council, Cellulose Fibers Business Leadership Team and Canadian Leadership Team.