

## **BACKGROUNDER**

## May 8, 2014

- The Saskatchewan Medical Association is a voluntary professional association for physicians in Saskatchewan. The SMA also represents the vast majority of medical students and residents training in Saskatchewan.
- Representing the collective view of the medical profession in Saskatchewan, and negotiating
  for and on behalf of fee-for-service, salaried and alternate payment physicians, the SMA is a provincial
  division of the Canadian Medical Association, which acts as the national voice of medicine in Canada.
  Membership is conjoint, and all SMA members are entitled to the rights and benefits of membership in
  the Canadian Medical Association.
- There are 2,133 physicians currently practicing in Saskatchewan.
- There are 966 family physicians currently practicing in the province.
- 94 per cent of the active physicians in the province are members of the SMA.
- The Annual Meeting of the College of Physicians and Surgeons held in Regina on October 18 and 19, 1966 unanimously adopted a resolution to proceed with the inauguration of the SMA as an independent body in accordance with the proposed constitution.
- The first Representative Assembly was elected and met in Regina on April 15 and 16, 1967. The first elected president of the SMA, in its current form, was Dr. M.A. Baltzan.
- The Representative Assembly is the governing body of the Saskatchewan Medical Association. It consists of representatives from regional medical associations, specialty sections, and medical students and residents. It is given the authority to act for the entire membership of the Association as it considers fit and proper and in the interest of the Association and its members.
- The Representative Assembly sets the broad and sometimes specific policies of the Association. It elects the SMA Board of Directors and approves the Association's annual budget, including membership dues and policies regarding reimbursement of expenses to individuals providing services to the Association. It is also responsible for appointing the Association's auditors.
- The outgoing president of the SMA is Dr. Clare Kozroski, a family physician from Gull Lake. Dr.
   Dalibor Slavik, a family physician from Saskatoon is the incoming president and will be officially installed as president of the SMA at a dinner on Friday, May 9.

## Notice to editors and news directors

Members of the media are invited to attend the meeting and to report on the proceedings, except any in-camera sessions. Representatives of the media will be asked to leave the proceedings during in-camera sessions. Opportunities for interviews with SMA spokespersons will be determined following the sessions. Requests for interviews with official SMA spokespersons and other requests should be coordinated through SMA communications staff.

## For more information contact:

Dallas Carpenter Communications Strategist, Saskatchewan Medical Association (306) 244-2196 dallas@sma.sk.ca